Birthday Bash...
Papertrey March Release Projects...

Super Stars...

Today the Papertrey team is showcasing a new stamp set called Super Stars.  This set will be available for purchase from the Papertrey Ink website at 10pm EST on March 15th.  There are also some fun star border dies to coordinate!

How many pop up book

Nichole challenged us to find an inspiration piece for our Super Star projects.  THIS amazing paper sculpture book by Ron Van Der Meer was the inspiration for my project today (btw -- if you're up for some interesting reading, just Google his name and read about his art...incredible!)

For the front of my card, I was inspired by the front of his book.  I thought the lettering was super fun and followed his lead.  I used the Block Alphabet Upper die to diecut the letters.  I cut them again from different patterned papers and snipped away the negative portions to fill in the spaces, just like the typography on the cover of the book.  

Shoot-for-the-Moon

The moon was created by first punching a 1" circle, then punching a portion of it away using a 3/4" circle punch.  The sentiment is from the new Super Stars set, as is the dotted flourish.  The entire sentiment reads "shoot for the moon and even if you miss, you will land among the stars".  I did a little creative masking with scotch tape on the sentiment to allow me to use diecuts to spell out "moon" and to finish the sentiment on the inside of the card.  The fun star borders are, of course, the new Super Star border dies.

Shoot-for-the-Moon-dtl

And as for the inside?  This is the fun part....just like the pop-up book I used as my inspiration piece (except mine isn't neeeeeeaaaarly the intricate work of art that his book is!! :-) ) I used the Movers & Shakers Popper spiral die on the inside, along with lots and lots of stars.

Shoot-for-the-Moon-inside

I actually used three spirals...the center one was left full-sized, but I trimmed the other two down just a bit so they would all fit inside my A2 card.  And then I just went a little crazy adding diecut stars.  The tiny stars are trimmed from the new Super Star borders.  I stamped the remainder of the sentiment down in the lower right corner.

Shoot-for-the-Moon-inside-2

Thanks for stopping by to check out my project today!  You can stop by the other girls to see what they've created with the new Super Stars collection!

1-supplies2pink

Supplies not linked but available on March 15 at 10pm EST from Papertrey Ink:  Super Stars stamp set, Super Stars border dies

Comments